My Top 6 Picks for Places to See, Stay and Eat in New York City 2013

Image via Louis Vuitton City Guide 2011 http://bit.ly/1dEsVlI

Image via Louis Vuitton City Guide 2011 http://bit.ly/1dEsVlI

Hey Ya’ll,

I was recently in the Big Apple working on some planning for The Knot Gala, which takes place in October (stay tuned for more details on this awesome event!). While there, I managed to do a bit of sight-seeing and snap some pics along the way, so today I’m sharing those photos and a few of my best recommendations for places to see, eat and stay in NYC.

1. Empire State Building

image-9The Empire State Building is a great spot for taking in city views both day and night. The observation deck is open from 8AM until 2AM, with the last elevator up leaving around 1:15AM. It’s a must-see in my book! Here are a couple of my photos from the top:

image-8 image-72. Washington Square Park

imageWashington Square Park is known for the gorgeous arch (pictured above), which was dedicated in 1895 in honor of George Washington, for whom the park is named. The park also features a large grassy area with a fountain that’s a popular meeting spot in the city (pictured below).

image-13. The 9/11 Memorial

9/11 Memorial Rendering via http://www.911memorial.org/about-memorial

9/11 Memorial Rendering via http://www.911memorial.org/about-memorial

The National September 11 Memorial honors the nearly 3,000 people killed in the terror attacks that occurred on 9/11/2001 at the World Trade Center site, near Shanksville, Pa., and at the Pentagon, as well as the six people killed in the World Trade Center bombing in February 1993.

6 copy The Memorial is made up of two waterfall pools that are each nearly an acre in size and sit in the footprints where the Twin Towers once stood. The names of every person who died in the 2001 and 1993 attacks are inscribed into bronze panels edging the Memorial pools.

4. Lombardi’s Pizza

lombardis_v2_460x285(2)For a quick bite to eat, I love popping into the pizza places that are scattered around the city. I have yet to meet a slice of New York pizza that I didn’t love. Lombardi’s is one of the best and is over 100 years old and considered one of America’s first pizzerias!

pizza5. Hakkasan

Hakkasan foodOn my most recent trip to NYC,  I ate at Hakkasan located in midtown Manhattan and the food was incredible. I highly recommend checking this spot out both for the delicious menu as well as the stunning 11,000 square foot space (see photo below).

Hakkasan NY6. Eventi Hotel

eventi hotelI loved staying at New York’s Eventi on my last trip, which is a Kimpton Hotel. It’s very modern and stylish.

Eventi loungeI have also stayed at the Gotham Hotel and all of their rooms have a little balcony. That’s another great option for the price (see photo below).

hotel09I’ll be sure to update this list each time I visit the city in the coming months but for now, those are some of my favorite spots in the city! What are your favorite places in New York City? Let me know in the comment section below.
-Brian

1 thought on “My Top 6 Picks for Places to See, Stay and Eat in New York City 2013

  1. Pingback: Try This Delicious Signature Drink By Abigail Kirsch | Extraordinary Experiences

Leave a comment